What's the value in private school

What's the value in private school

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Judy 1 year, 9 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

rhb2345
    Participant

My husband and I have the means to send our children to private school. It would by no means be a cake walk and we’d seriously have to change our spending habits. We both went to public school and think we got a pretty good education. My question is, how do you justify spending $28,000 – $45,000 per year per child?

I realize that most private schools are better (if not far superior) to the area public schools, but by $30,000?

My husband is a stat geek and he cannot quantify the cost. In his words, ‘unless there’s one teacher for 200 2nd graders and that one “teacher” is a bus driver by trade, I don’t get it’.

Someone in the know please provide clarity to our situation.

#10805 Reply

Almeta
    Participant

For us the value is knowing the kids are safe and sound. No one can prevent or foresee a catastrophic event, but I’m confident that my children will not be in any physical danger at their current schools. That’s number one. Number two is, and I realize this sounds snobby, our kids will have a leg up in college and beyond. Our hope is that they get a great education and at least have a shot at a diploma that will carry weight in the future. If either of my kids get accepted to an Ivy school and choose to go to a “lesser” school, so be it. I simply want them to have an opportunity and a fighting chance. Coming from a public school, Ivys know that they may not be investing in what they can get from a private school family. Plus, the donor dollars will not likely be as high.