SSAT, WISC or ISEE?

SSAT, WISC or ISEE?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Dannie 7 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

MHS1979
    Participant

My sister is looking at 6th grade admissions to a Montgomery Co. private school. The school accepts the SSAT, WISC-V or the ISEE. Which one should my nephew take? Is there one that’s better or more “accepted” than another?

#12509 Reply

peterbraverman
    Participant

Hi, MHS. I have nearly 20 years’ experience in the admission field, from both sides of the table, as well as nearly a year in my own firm, Arc PD (shameless plug: http://www.arcpd.com/sp-home). The DCSH brass asked if I’d take on your question. So here goes:

1. While Pearson, the publisher of the WISC makes the most recent iteration of the test available for students under 17 years old, I’ve never heard of a school asking for a WISC from applicants past grade 5. I don’t make any judgments about the integrity or the value of the test, but I’d still tread carefully, since most schools will have little experience with it for a rising sixth-grader.

2. There are several differences between the SSAT and the ISEE that may make it easier for your nephew’s family to decide which one would suit him better. Here are a few:

a. The SSAT reports two language-based scores (verbal and reading, in addition to an optional essay that is simply passed along to schools), plus one mathematical score. The ISEE reports two language-based and two math-based scores. If your nephew is a strong math student, that may be a reason to consider the ISEE.

b. A student may take the ISEE only once during an admission cycle. If your sister’s family is likely to want two or three swings at the piñata, so to speak, that’s worth keeping in mind.

c. The ISEE has many more test date options; the SSAT is usually administered about eight times per year. Be sure the dates work for your nephew.